Is Pain Necessary? What Is Your Calling (Part 2)?

Now these are the nations that the Lord left, to test Israel by them, that is, all in Israel who had not experienced all the wars in Canaan.

It was only in order that the generations of the people of Israel might know war, to teach war to those who had not known it before. (Judges 3:1-2 ESV)

Driving around San Francisco is a real treat sometimes, especially after the sun sets. It’s when you’re at the top of the hill that you get a clear view of the city. It’s a beautiful sight.

Coming down is inevitable like going through life with the experience of pain.

I met this beautiful girl the other day and we began sharing stories about our day. She told me how she had to work on the weekend, and I told her that wasn’t so bad because she was still getting paid. When she asked me about my day I told her about my back accident, and she immediately felt sympathy for me.

We were just strangers until we shared intimate details about our lives.

Before we each shared our pain, we had been joking around and laughing because we both understood how life can be a paradox.

After our brief interaction, she said that I was the best part of her day.

Without pain my life wouldn’t be perfect.

I meet so many different kinds of people in San Francisco, yet I still find something in common with each of them.

From the space scientists to the tech engineers, their stories bear a similar thread. Being nice comes at a price.

They all thank me for taking them from point A to point B. The Israelites asked God to do the same for them. They cried out to God in Egypt so He could bring them out to the promised land, but God made sure they understood there was a price they had to pay.

They were for the testing of Israel, to know whether Israel would obey the commandments of the Lord, which he commanded their fathers by the hand of Moses. (Judges 3:4 ESV)

Where is your promised land?

Is it in advancing in your career? Is it in marriage? Is it in raising a Godly family?

My promised land is here, sharing my pain with strangers, so maybe one of them will see God can become the best part of their day.

As long as I continue to allow myself to be like the clay in the potter’s hands, I know God’s word will change me and shape me in the way that seems best to Him.
Will you allow yourself to be like clay in His hands?

It will be painful, but the pain is only there to test you for the war ahead.

DJ Pastor Ephany!
Catch Me If You Can – Tedashii

What is Your Calling?

Leave a comment